More columns for Description in MSL with Ajax

Place for comments, problems, questions, or any issue related to the JavaScript / PHP scripts from this site.
petitesouris

More columns for Description in MSL with Ajax

Hello
I am a real newbie and it took me a while to get the script working but it does! Thank you so much, now I have a question and would like to know if it is possible to modify it.

When I have my 3 drop down selected it brings descr info.

I would like it to be displayed in a table but most important:
Is it possible that if you have your selection with your 3 MSL, it brings more than descr column but other columns?

like for me if they select:
Campus | Course | Category
it will return:
title
descr
start date
end date
start time
end time
I can see the potential but such a newbie that I will not be able to modify tyhe code.
THANK YOU

Admin Posts: 805
Hello
If you want to select data from more columns for description in Multiple Select Dropdown Lists, and display it into a html table, use the script from this page:
https://coursesweb.net/ajax/multiple-sel ... ist-ajax_t
- and replace the content in the "select_list.php" with this code:

Code: Select all

<?php
// Multiple select lists - https://coursesweb.net/ajax/

// Here add your own data for connecting to MySQL database
$server = 'localhost';
$user = 'root';
$pass = 'password';
$dbase = 'dbname';

// Here add the name of the table and columns that will be used for select lists, in their order
// Add null for 'links' if you don`t want to display their data too
$table = 'sites';
$ar_cols = array('site', 'menu', 'categ', 'links');

//Here you can add extra columns with data for description
$extra_desc = array('ext_col1', 'ext_col2');

if(!isset($_SESSION)) session_start();
header('Content-type: text/html; charset=utf-8');

$preid = 'slo_';  // a prefix used for element's ID, in which Ajax will add <select>
$col = $ar_cols[0];  // the variable used for the column that wil be selected